BRICS and Arab countries drove development cooperation increases

by Mariella Di Ciommo

BRICS and Arab countries drove development cooperation increases graph FINALDevelopment cooperation from non-DAC providers increased by more than four times between 2000 and 2011. Arab countries’ cooperation increased by five times and cooperation from the BRICS by four times.

Development cooperation from non-DAC providers increased from US$3.9 billion in 2000 to US$16.8 billion in 2011. Both the Arab countries* and the BRICS** saw their contributions increase by US$5.6 billion for each group over the period, led by China and Saudi Arabia within these respective groups.

While contributions from European cooperation providers that are not OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC) members increased by 11 times, this was from low levels (US$128 million in 2000).

Some of the increase in development cooperation from non-DAC countries is due to better information – data coverage more than doubled from 12 countries in 2000 to 25 in 2011.

‘Development cooperation’ covers different human, financial and in-kind flows. National debates on the purpose and characteristics of development cooperation are needed in some providing countries. Greater transparency – more timely data, more detailed information on governance, the composition and destination of flows, and easier access formats – would contribute to more informed national and international discussions. It would help to be able to compare different providers’ cooperation, their specific contributions to development, and assessment of their impact, for example in South-South relations.

Data are available in Excel and CSV format.


Gross development cooperation disbursements, 2000-2011, in constant 2011 prices.

Based on OECD DAC database and national sources.

Countries included are: Brazil (2005-2010 only), Bulgaria, China, Chinese Taipei, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, India, Israel, Kuwait (KFAED), Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates.

The Czech Republic, Iceland, Poland, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia have joined the DAC since 2011.

* Kuwait (KFAED), Saudi Arabia, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

** Brazil, Russia, China, India, South Africa.

For details on methodology and sources see report.


Development Initiatives, Development Cooperation for the Future (April 2014).